Knife sharpening techniques....
Login to post a new topic and to write a reply.

Search within thread:

Rate This Thread
Login to rate this thread.
#1 (permalink)      1/24/2022 1:36:07 PM US Central   quote/reply + tips
Skeeeets
Verified
  • JoinedFeb 2014
  • Posts 10971
  • Reviews 260
  • Kudos6871
Knife sharpening techniques....
So I'm no sharpening expert, and for the most part have no issues getting a proper edge for most of my knives... But I can't for the life of me sharpen a dual edge blade without eventually rounding out the tip.

Any advice?
Knock knock, let the devil in. Malevolent as I've ever been, head is spinnin'. This medicine's screamin', "L-l-l-let us in!"
#2 (permalink)      1/24/2022 2:39:02 PM US Central   quote/reply + tips
vape8ion
Verified
  • JoinedOct 2013
  • Posts 13916
  • Reviews 45
  • Kudos21540
Not from me, for sure, I have a Dawson Bowie that I cannot get to a perfect point, always close but no cigar, so to speak....The best I can get it to a point is by putting an edge on the swedge first, then bringing the blade up to it. If I do the blade first I always end up rounding down when I do the swedge. There may be a technique to get a perfect point, but I have found no instruction or video.
I'm out.....have some fun. Eh?
#3 (permalink)      1/24/2022 3:47:38 PM US Central   quote/reply + tips
Skeeeets
Verified
  • JoinedFeb 2014
  • Posts 10971
  • Reviews 260
  • Kudos6871
I can get a pretty close point with a standard single edge blade, and damn near perfect point with a tanto, but these dagger tips are a pain in my ass. With my job, stabbing and slicing boxes, the first 1-2mm of the tip dulls quick enough and it makes a big difference.

Edited on 1/24/2022 at 3:59 PM. Reason:
Knock knock, let the devil in. Malevolent as I've ever been, head is spinnin'. This medicine's screamin', "L-l-l-let us in!"
#4 (permalink)      1/24/2022 6:01:28 PM US Central   quote/reply + tips
Skeeeets
Verified
  • JoinedFeb 2014
  • Posts 10971