Product Reviews


Sort:
Draeghonov
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedAug 2014
  • Posts 2
  • Reviews 7
  • Kudos0
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
PROS
came very clean looks juice capacity easy to build deck insulated drip tip
CONS
fill hole rather small low res builds are not recommended we will see during a period of use ;)
First of all:
I will do a one month update!
The reason for that, is that I have severely messed up my aqua v2 within a month's of use, and i do NOT want to make that mistake again!!!

So, to inform you of the experience so far with the orchid v3:
The packaging was nice, and the device was clean. But, just for the sake of safety/hygiene, I cleaned the device. Just a good rinse and we were off.

Time to look at it;
Very clean looks, no unnecessary shapes or logos.
The heat sink fans at the top of the tank in combination with the delrin insulated drip tip gave the confidence to do a good low res build.
The deck was great to build on; more space than on my Goblin, and even though the chimney is a one piece item, the height of the chimney was enough t make sure your coils will not touch the top of the chamber. Just make sure the coils will be in the perimeters of the deck surface, width wise ;)
I stared with a 0.2 ohms 24 Ga dual coil kanthal build.
That was... STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!
The thing gets rather warm and goes through juice like crazy!
I compared performance between the orchid and the goblin, vaping them side by side, but since the airflow isn't anywhere near the goblin,best is to crank up the resistance a bit.
0.3 is okay I guess, but again; not really a cloud chaser tank with the standard airflow.
I tried a couple of builds in the range between 0.3 and 1.5 ohms.
The nice thing is, that the orchid will be very clear on what build it "prefers".
I'm running a 0.82 ohms 28 Ga dual coil build (kanthal) at the moment.
After a few good hours of building the thing, I can say that this build will stay for the time being. I want to see if this build will indeed be satisfactory over the course of a week or two.
A fair comparison would be my Atlantis I think.
Yes, the Atlantis has superior airflow, but since I lately have been using the Atlantis as a flavor atty, the larger two openings have been avoided as such.

So far, the quality of the device has been nice, the ease of building was a nice welcome in comparison to the aqua v2 and in a way to the Goblin as well.
What I can say so far, is that I am most likely to buy another if this one goes "kaput" or if I will lose it in a freak accident.

I will update in a month :)
Reviewed on
Avatar
arboreal
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedSep 2014
  • Posts 688
  • Reviews 141
  • Kudos574
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
For me, this is the best tank. Cheap, well-made, small, tough with excellent airflow. I now have 3 of these and 2 V4s. I've done the 'latest and greatest' atty buying, but I always come back to these. Love them.
Reviewed on
Shokengou
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedSep 2013
  • Posts 7
  • Reviews 10
  • Kudos1
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
PROS
Good Flavor Good clouds 4 posts!
CONS
Requires practice may leak or flood if you overfill
MY first attempt with rebuilding on this deck was skewed, I didn't get my coils exactly over the air-holes, resulting in muted flavor and less vapor production, I also used a bit too much cotton.

I had some issues refilling the tank with the bottom hole, I had to learn all about the pressurized tank to understand why I was constantly getting leaks and flooding.

*Id suggest watching a youtube review of this tank if you choose to get one*

after watching videos and understanding the pressurized tank I haven't had any issues, none! my second build seems to work flawlessly, I have the coils lined up perfectly with the air-holes, and the wicks gently touching the juice channels, I'm getting excellent air-flow and no more flooding or leaking. flavor is excellent and produces great clouds.

This is a great affordable tank if you enjoy to rebuild, and want to take it on the go.
Reviewed on
awittyusername
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedAug 2013
  • Posts 0
  • Reviews 2
  • Kudos0
Overall   (4.2)
› Quality
› Value
PROS
- Build quality - Finish - Vapour production - Ease of building - Value for money
CONS
- Packaging - Bundled wire/wick - Liquid volume - No good for 100% VG liquids
Upon receiving this tank I was underwhelmed by the packaging. It was really basic and mashed up. I can forgive this though since the price is so low, I'd rather the manufacturer spend their money on the product rather than the packaging.

Inside there was the tank, a spares pack (including additional screws, o-rings and a screwdriver) and some wire and wick. It seems that every manufacturer includes this wick/wire combo in some way and I would prefer it if they didn't bother with these and either lower the cost of the item or improve the quality. The wick is standard silica wick and the wire is a very narrow guage and not very good quality.

The tank itself is made to a very high standard, it looks super smart and the finish is top-notch. The body is stainless steel and the clear portion is polycarbonate. The drip tip is stainless steel with a plasic inner which is a shame.

The build deck is well made but the screws in the posts tend to snag as they are being screwed up or down - nothing major and certainly nothing to stop you buying but it was just an observation I made.

The chimney is one piece as can be seen in the pictures which makes wicking slightly more difficult than on a Kayfun/Russian but Google can help with that. It is etched with a logo which slightly takes away from the premium look of the tank but it's not a deal breaker, I'll get over it.

Once it has been coiled and wicked, filling is nice and easy thanks to the bottom fill screw. Some have suggested that because it is close to the base of the chimney, that filling may squirt juice directly into the chimney but I have not had this problem. As long as you press your juice bottle's nozzle right up to the hole, there's no issue.

The description says that it holds 2.5-3ml of liquid, however this seems to be an overestimation. I would say that it holds at best; 2ml. Because it is a dual coil build, it gets through this amount quite quick and most will find that a refill is required half way through the day at least. This isn't a problem though thanks to the fill screw.

I've been using this tank with two coils giving me 1ohms overall, and 50/50 PG/VG juice on a box mod set at 20W and the flavour and vapour production are out of this world! It completely eclipses my SQuape Reloaded clone, Kayfun clone, genuine Russian 91% and my Taifun GT clone - I can't see me using any other tank any time soon.

The parts are interchangable with Kayfun tanks but you do need to buy additional parts to get them to fit since the chimney on this tank is so short. Extended chimneys off the v4 can be bought here on FT though, and I've ordered a Kayfun top-fill top cap to make refilling even easier.

All in all this is an excellent tank for the price, with the only real drawback being the small capacity. But don't let that put you off, since it can be improved with additional parts and once you've tried this tank you won't look back. Buy it, you know you want to!
Reviewed on
408vaper
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedNov 2013
  • Posts 3
  • Reviews 3
  • Kudos2
Overall   (3.7)
› Quality
› Value
PROS
Roomy enough for 24g Great airflow No leaks through o rings
CONS
Kind of hard to fill w/o a syringe tip
This thing is the tank I've been looking for, easy to build, wicks like at a champ @.5, nice vapor production, great airflow. I normally super subohm my rda's, and this thing actually gives me a satisfying vape. Will definitely be in the daily rotation for a long time to come. I can't think of a reason not to have this in your arsenal.
Reviewed on
jmedwar1292730
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedAug 2014
  • Posts 0
  • Reviews 7
  • Kudos0
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
It looks awesome! It chucks the vapor. Works with 24,26,or <28 awg kanthal. I have built her down to .24 and she still wicks!

The only con with the V3 over the V2 is the tank capacity and specifically the gap between the chimney and inner wall of the clear portion. When trying to fill this tank I have to use a 25awg point tip syringe needle to fit in between the gap. The V2 could fill with a much larger 20awg dripper bottle.

This small gap also leads to another major problem for me. Since I vape max vg juices (>80%vg) it has a hard time flowing down this small gap and takes a while to flow to the bottom of the tank if I ever lay my mod over.

I would still recommend this version for the looks but If you want to get the full orchid experience I would have to recommend the V2.
Reviewed on
Avatar
BabyGirl26
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedJan 2014
  • Posts 385
  • Reviews 66
  • Kudos272
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
PROS
Cross head post screws + spares Double terminals in positive post. easy to coil for a duel Kayfun 22mm accessorys compatible
CONS
Can be awkward to fill. No AFC
For a duel coil this atty has a learning curve that once you get down proves to be very good indeed. The less cotton the better seems to be the way. Too much and it steams the juice by over saturating. It can flood after filling but there are ways to get around these issuses. Do some checking online, get educated and a couple of builds through trail and error and it can work great.
Reviewed on
Blademaster
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedNov 2013
  • Posts 11
  • Reviews 18
  • Kudos2
Overall   (3.2)
› Quality
› Value
PROS
Looks good
CONS
Cuts the wires when tighten the coil Bottom fillhole useless Juice capacity not -2.5 - 3ml
In last time i get only Bullshit pieces.
The holes for the grub-screws are to deep if i want to tighten my wick, it cuts my kanthal.
Have tried to grinding the edges down but still to deep.
Bottom fill hole is for me useless. the idea is not bad like Kayfun lite but when you screw the chimney on it, the wall of the chimnes is right of the top of this fill hole. its messy job to fill thru this hole.
Tank Capacity 1,5ml in truth.
all in all goes back to China
Reviewed on
petrosnik
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedApr 2014
  • Posts 0
  • Reviews 152
  • Kudos0
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
CONS
OK
Εξαιρετικο μικρο.
Φοβερο ντουμανι και γευση.
Τρομερη τιμη.
Προτεινετε.
Πετρος
Reviewed on
edjammies
Verified

VERIFIED OWNER
  • JoinedJun 2014
  • Posts 9
  • Reviews 2
  • Kudos9
Overall   (5.0)
› Quality
› Value
PROS
Compatible with Kayfun accessories Flavor, vape production, and ease of building
CONS
No form of AFC
Works great, much better than my Kayfun. The draw is just a smidge tighter than a Magma wide-open which is really good considering the flavor and vape production on this tank.

And yes, the nano quartz kit and orion style top caps sold here on FT are compatible with the Orchid V3. Check my thread in the Discussions for close-up pictures of the set-up.
Reviewed on